Warmth. 

Eyes closed

Flickering in artificial light
Insides wide open
A Constant flow or a kitchen tap jammed on tight
Drips slow
And a Drain clogged with yesterday’s scraps
Gooey grey and yellow
10 drips
Become a full sink
I think
My eyes float across suds 
Slip and overflow
Slides down sides
Drops on toes
A bucket 
A mop
Soaks away the mess
Like clouds above a Damp wilderness
Fills and shifts
And shares its flow on tiles
On snow
I melt 
Words become water
Water and words
Splash my cheeks 
My flickering eyes
Sigh and blink 
They’re tired and limp
I think
My words disappear
I empty my sink
Then glide into soft sheets with cold summer on my mind, feet seek cold corners
But my eyelids are tired
Heart beats slow
And the tap drips slow down
Not a smile nor a frown fills my face as much as warmth fills yours. 

Leave a comment